Bureau of Enforcement

The Bureau of Enforcement acts as the compliance and investigative arm of MQA, where complaints about practitioners are received and investigated and violations and administrative actions are established according to Florida Statutes or rules. The Bureau of Enforcement is comprised of four units:

Consumer Services Unit (CSU)

The Consumer Services Unit is the central intake unit for receipt of complaints against regulated health care practitioners.

Investigative Services Unit (ISU)

The Investigative Services Unit investigates legally sufficient complaints and conducts inspections of regulated facilities across 11 investigative regions of the state: Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, Jupiter, Ft. Myers, Tampa, St. Petersburg, Orlando, Alachua, Jacksonville, Tallahassee, and Pensacola.

Compliance Management Unit (CMU)

The Compliance Management Unit monitors the probation, payment of fines and costs, completion of continuing education, and other disciplinary actions contained in citations and final orders to health care practitioners and facility owners. This unit also ensures the correct disciplinary status is displayed for the public and cleared upon successful completion of the discipline.

Unlicensed Activity Program

The Unlicensed Activity (ULA) Program protects Florida residents and visitors from the potentially serious and dangerous consequences of receiving medical and health care services from an unlicensed person by investigating complaints, referring allegations for prosecution to law enforcement, and conducting public outreach to increase awareness.