

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH LICENSING FOR MILITARY VETERANS

Florida Veterans Application for Licensure Online Response Process (VALOR)

If you are a military veteran seeking licensure in most health care professions, Florida now offers expedited licensure processing. To qualify, you must apply for the license either six months before or six months after your honorable discharge from the United States Armed Forces.

Military Veteran Fee Waiver

If you are a military veteran, you may be eligible for a waiver of the initial application and licensure fees for all health care professions. Your application must be submitted within 60 months of your honorable discharge from any branch of the United States Armed Forces. The initial license fee, initial application fee and initial unlicensed activity fee will be waived for veterans returning from active duty service. This waiver does not include examination fees.

Effective January 1, 2013, applicants for initial licensure must use a LiveScan service provider to submit a set of fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) to allow the agency to conduct a search for any Florida and national criminal history records that may pertain to applicants. For more information regarding the background screening process, please visit our website at www.flhealthsource.gov/valor.

Reimbursement for Veterans' Professional Examination Costs

The Florida Department of Veterans' Affairs (DVA) will reimburse eligible applicants for the cost of licensing and certification examinations, not to exceed \$2,000 per test. These licensing and certification examinations must be generally deemed necessary to pursue a trade or profession. For more information, please visit http://www.fdva.org/saa/LiCert.asp.

Temporary Certificate to Practice in an Area of Critical Need

Military veterans who served at least 10 years in the United States Armed Forces may be eligible for a temporary certificate to practice in an area of critical need. This certificate limits you to practicing in designated areas of critical need, and it is only available to physicians who have an active, unencumbered license in another jurisdiction of the United States. There is no application fee for physicians seeking this certificate. This certificate is limited to physicians who will not receive compensation for their service.

How to Apply

Military veterans are encouraged to apply online through the Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance VALOR portal, or by mail by completing the *Military Veteran Fee Waiver Request* form located on the website.

For more information on these and other military licensing services, please visit our website www.flhealthsource.gov/valor.

