Medical Use of Marijuana in a Form For Smoking
Posted March 19, 2019
The Florida Department of Health has launched an informational website providing basic information about CS for CS for CS for Senate Bill 182, Medical Use of Marijuana, and the upcoming changes for patients and prescribers. Signed by Governor DeSantis on March 18, 2019, with an immediate effective date, the law addresses marijuana for medical use by smoking.
The website provides specific information for those affected by the law and links to other helpful resources, such as FAQs for patients, FAQs for physicians, informational webinars, links to appropriate forms required by law, and more.
Please visit http://flhealthsource.gov/mum/
Medical Marijuana Consent Form & the Documentation Updates
Posted November 20, 2017
The Medical Marijuana Consent Form & the Documentation form have been adopted by emergency rule by the Board of Medicine and Board of Osteopathic Medicine and are now available. Physicians are required by law to use the consent form when issuing a certification for medical marijuana to a qualified patient. Under section 381.986(4)(b), Florida Statutes, physicians are required to provide documentation within 14 days after they issue a certification for a medical condition of the same kind or class as or comparable to those conditions listed in section 381.986(2)(a)-(j), Florida Statutes. Physicians must use the documentation form adopted by rule and submit the documentation to the Board of Medicine or the Board of Osteopathic Medicine.
Medical Marijuana Qualified Physician Searchable Tool
Posted November 15, 2017
In order to make finding a qualified physician easier on patients, the Office of Medical Marijuana Use has launched our new Medical Marijuana Qualified Physician Searchable tool. This new tool allows users to efficiently search for a licensed physician within a specific geographical location and based on a physician’s specialty or certification. The system has an added benefit of indicating whether a particular physician is accepting new patients. The Medical Marijuana Qualified Physician Searchable tool is user friendly and easy to navigate. By simply selecting the needed criteria, Florida patients can be paired with a healthcare professional that fits their specific need.
Please click here to access our new site!
Florida Medical Association and Florida Osteopathic Medical Association issued a 2 AMA PRA Category 1 credit course titled Florida Physician Medical Marijuana Course
Posted November 13, 2017
On September 28, 2017, the Florida Medical Association and Florida Osteopathic Medical Association issued a 2 AMA PRA Category 1 credit course titled Florida Physician Medical Marijuana Course. This course addresses the relevant laws and rules that govern physicians who intend to certify patient eligibility for medical marijuana in Florida. Allopathic and Osteopathic physicians who choose to certify patients are required to complete this course and pass the post-test during each licensure term (or every two years).
Already qualified physicians who met the physician education requirement before September 28, 2017, must also successfully complete this course no later than December 26, 2017, to maintain department approval as a qualified physician, since by law, the course must be completed within 90-days after it was issued.