

Florida Department of Health License Renewal Application

(Active and Inactive Status)

Expedite your application by applying online at www.flhealthsource.gov

Your license expires at midnight on the expiration date. Renewal notification postcards are mailed to the last known mailing address on record 90 days prior to the expiration date.

General Renewal Requirements:

- Must pay the biennial renewal fee required by the board or department when there is no board. Active duty members of the Armed Forces whose license is currently in a "military status" are not required to pay a renewal fee.
- Must pay \$5.00 unlicensed activity fee as required in s. 456.065(3), Florida Statutes. Active duty members of the Armed Forces whose license is currently in a "military status" are not required to pay an unlicensed activity fee.
- Must have met the continuing education requirements required by the board or department when there is no
 board by the license expiration date. Your continuing education credits must be reported to the Department's
 Continuing Education Tracking system on or before the day you submit your renewal application. To view
 continuing education requirements for your profession, visit www.flhealthsource.gov. To view your course history
 and report hours please register for a Free Basic Account by visiting http://www.flhealthsource.gov/AYRR.
- Must submit your renewal application, any applicable fees, and any supplemental documentation to the
 Department of Health online at www.flhealthsource.gov or by US Mail to P.O. Box 6320, Tallahassee, Florida
 32314-6320. Applications mailed must be postmarked by midnight on the license expiration date.

Note: If you are renewing your license after the expiration date, you are required to pay a delinquency fee in addition to your renewal fees.

Profession Specific Requirements:

<u>Background Screening:</u> If you are licensed in one of the following professions and received your license prior to January 1, 2013, you are required to submit information necessary to conduct a statewide criminal history check, along with a fee required by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to process the statewide criminal history check:

- Medical Doctors (Ch. 458)
- Osteopathic Physicians (Ch. 459)
- Chiropractic Physicians (Ch. 460)
- Nurses (Ch. 464)
- Podiatric Physicians (Ch. 461)
- Orthotists, Prosthetists & Pedorthists (Ch. 468)

<u>Financial Responsibility:</u> If you are licensed in one of the following professions, you must demonstrate compliance with financial responsibility as a part of licensure renewal process:

- Acupuncturists (Ch. 457)
- Medical Doctors (Ch. 458)
- Osteopathic Physicians (Ch. 459)
- Chiropractic Physicians (Ch. 460)
- Podiatric Physicians (Ch. 461)
- Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners
 (Ch. 464)
- Dentists (Ch. 466)
- Licensed Midwives (Ch. 467)
 - Anesthesiologist Assistant (Ch. 458, 459)

<u>Practitioner Profiling:</u> If you are licensed in one of the following professions, you are required to maintain information as specified in Sections 456.039 and 456.0391, Florida Statutes, for publication on the Department's website. As part of the renewal process, you will be asked to review and verify the information published online is correct.

- Medical Doctors (Ch. 458)
- Osteopathic Physicians (Ch. 459)
- Chiropractic Physicians (Ch. 460)
- Podiatric Physicians (Ch. 461)
- Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners (Ch. 464)

<u>Physician Workforce Survey:</u> If you are licensed as a medical doctor or osteopathic physician, you are required to complete the physician survey as a condition of renewal pursuant to Sections 458.3191 and 459.0081, Florida Statutes.

<u>Dispensing Registration</u>: If you are currently registered to dispense medicinal drugs to your patients, you are required to renew your registration at the same time you are renewing your license. If you are no longer interested in dispensing medicinal drugs, you can cancel your registration by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application. If you are not currently registered to dispense medicinal drugs and would like to register, you can complete the registration process at the time you are renewing your license by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application and paying the dispensing registration fee. The registration fee will be in addition to your renewal fee.

<u>Prescribing Privileges:</u> If you are a Physician Assistant currently registered with prescribing privileges, you are required to renew your registration at the same time you are renewing your license. If you are no longer interested in prescribing privileges, you can cancel your registration by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application. If you are not currently registered to prescribe and would like to register, you can complete the registration process at the time you are renewing your license by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application and paying the prescribing registration fee. The registration fee will be in addition to your renewal fee.

<u>Letter of Recommendation or Employment:</u> If you currently hold a certificate as a Medical Doctor Public Psychiatry, Medical Doctor Public Health, Medical Doctor Limited to Mayo Clinic, Limited License Medical Doctor or Medical Doctor Area of Critical Need, you will be required to submit the following letters:

- Medical Doctor Public Psychiatry Letter from the State Surgeon General recommending renewal of the
 certificate; and letter from the chair of the department of psychiatry at one of the public medical schools or
 the chair of the department of psychiatry at the accredited medical school at the University of Miami
 recommending renewal of the certificate.
- 2. <u>Medical Doctor Public Health</u> Letter from the State Surgeon General recommending renewal of the certificate.
- 3. <u>Medical Doctor Limited to Mayo Clinic, Limited License Medical Doctor or Medical Doctor Area of Critical Need</u> Letter of Employment.

Note: Limited License Medical Doctors and Medical Doctor Area of Critical Need who do not receive compensation for services will be required to submit a statement of non-compensation from the employing agency or institution pursuant to § 458.317(3), Fla. Stat.

<u>National Advance Practice Certification:</u> If you are renewing your Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner license, and you were required to be nationally certified at the time of original licensure, you must submit a copy of your current national certification.

<u>Criminal Conviction Sworn Statement:</u> If you are renewing your Certified Chiropractic Physician Assistant § 460.4165(13), Fla. Stat.) or Anesthesiologist Assistant (§ 458.3475(6)(b)2., Fla. Stat.) license, you will be required to submit a sworn statement relating to felony convictions in the previous two years.

<u>Emergency Care Plan</u>: Pursuant to \$467.017, Fla. Stat., if you are renewing your midwife license, you will be required to submit an example of the emergency care plan you have developed which must address the following: consultation with other health care providers, emergency transfer, and access to neonatal intensive care units and obstetrical units or other patient care areas. Patient specific information should not be included in the general emergency care plan.

<u>Florida Center for Nursing Donation:</u> The Florida Center for Nursing is the definitive source for information, research, and strategies addressing the dynamic nurse workforce needs in our state. The Center conducts multiple annual and biennial research projects to provide a comprehensive look at Florida's nurse population. This research is used to address issues of supply and demand, utilization of scarce nurse workforce resources throughout the state, and to make recommendations to influence health policy decisions.

Research has shown that increasing production of new nurses alone will not resolve the shortage. Efforts must be taken to retain the experiential knowledge of our existing nurses. It is through donations, such as we are asking you to consider today, that the Center can offer small grants aimed at improving the work environment to enhance retention and recruitment of nurses in Florida.

To learn more about the Center and to make a donation, please go to www.FLCenterForNursing.org/donors. The Center's operating revenues are derived in part from your donations. In order for the Center to continue its work on behalf of nurses, please donate.

<u>Nursing Student Loan Forgiveness</u>: Pursuant to Section 1009.66(6) Florida Statutes and Rule 64B9-7.001(11), Florida Administrative Code, a \$5 Student Loan Forgiveness fee will be assessed at renewal for nurses who renew their Florida license.

Change of Status Requirements:

Active Status Options:

- INACTIVE STATUS: To change your license from active status to inactive status <u>during the renewal cycle</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the inactive status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. To change your license from active status to inactive status <u>after the renewal cycle ends</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the inactive status fee, plus the change of status and delinquent fees, required by the board or department when there is no board.
- **RETIRED STATUS:** To change your license from active status to retired status <u>during the renewal cycle</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the retired status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. To change your license from active status to retired status <u>after the renewal cycle ends</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the retired status fee, plus the change of status and delinquent fees, required by the board or department when there is no board.
- MILITARY STATUS: To change your license from active status to military active status, complete the renewal application and attach a copy of your current active duty orders or a letter from your Commanding Officer. There is no fee for Military Active status.
- MILITARY SPOUSE STATUS: To change your license from active status to military because you are the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and will be absent from Florida due to your spouse's military duties, complete the renewal application and attach a copy of your spouse's active duty order or a letter from their Commanding Officer. There is no fee for Military Active status.

Inactive Status Options:

- ACTIVE STATUS: To change your license from inactive status to active status <u>during the renewal cycle</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the active status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. Additionally, you must have met the continuing education requirements required by the board or department when there is no board, to change your inactive license to active status. Your continuing education credits must be reported to the Department's Continuing Education Tracking system on or before the day you submit your renewal application.
- **REACTIVATE:** To change your license from inactive status to active status <u>after the renewal cycle ends</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the active status fee, plus the change of status and delinquent fees, required by the board or department when there is no board. Additionally, you must have met the continuing education requirements required by the board or department when there is no board, to reactivate your inactive license. Your continuing education credits must be reported to the Department's Continuing Education Tracking system on or before the day you submit your renewal application. (Note: Additional requirements may be applicable.)
- RETIRED STATUS: To change your license from inactive status to retired status <u>during the renewal cycle</u>, you must complete the renewal application and pay the retired status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. To change your license from active status to retired status <u>after the renewal cycle</u> <u>ends</u>, you must complete the renewal application and required supplemental forms and pay the retired status fee, plus the change of status and delinquent fees, required by the board or department when there is no board.
- MILITARY STATUS: To change your license from inactive status to military inactive status, complete the renewal application and attach a copy of your current active duty orders or a letter from your Commanding Officer. There is no fee for Military Inactive status.

• MILITARY SPOUSE STATUS: To change your license from inactive status to military because you are the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and will be absent from Florida due to your spouse's military duties, complete the renewal application and attach a copy of your spouse's active duty order or a letter from their Commanding Officer. There is no fee for Military Inactive status.

Note:

- 1. A licensee who remains on inactive status for more than two consecutive biennial licensure cycles and who wishes to reactivate their license may be required to demonstrate the competency to resume active practice by sitting for a special purpose examination or by completing other reactivation requirements.
- 2. This status does not apply to Medical Doctor Public Psychiatry Certificate, Medical Doctor Public Health Certificate, Medical Doctor Limited to Mayo Clinic, Certified Nurse Assistant, Health Access Dentist, and Registered Chiropractic Assistant.

Military Status Options:

- Active Status: To remove military status from your license and receive an active license, you must complete the renewal application and pay the active status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. Additionally, you must provide a copy of your DD214 or a letter from your Commanding Officer.
- Inactive Status: To remove military status from your license and receive an inactive license, you must complete the renewal application and pay the inactive status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. Additionally, you must provide a copy of your DD214 or a letter from your Commanding Officer.
- **RETIRED STATUS:** To remove military status from your license and retire your license, you must complete the renewal application and pay the retired status fee required by the board or department when there is no board. Additionally, you must provide a copy of your DD214 or a letter from your Commanding Officer.