“Success is 20% skill and 80% strategy. You might know how to succeed, but more importantly, what’s your plan to succeed?” – Jim Rohn
The Long-Range Planning meeting brings together the people and partners redefining health care regulation in the state of Florida.
Join us in Tallahassee in 2023.
What is the Long-Range Planning Meeting?
The Division of Medical Quality Assurance is planning for the future.
We are inviting our most valued partners to join discussions with our organization about the trends impacting the regulation of health care in the state of Florida, as well as what we do well, where we could do better, and what our priorities should be to better protect, promote, and improve the health of all Floridians.
January 13, 2023
8:30 AM – 4:30 PM
AC Hotel Tallahassee
801 S Gadsden St
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Governor DeSantis declares State of Emergency for Hurricane Ian
Governor DeSantis declares State of Emergency for Hurricane Ian
On Friday, September 23, 2022, Governor Ron DeSantis declared a State of Emergency to prepare for Hurricane Ian.
Medical professionals and workers, social workers, and counselors with good and valid professional licenses issued by states other than the State of Florida may render such services in Florida during this emergency for persons affected by this emergency with the condition that such services be rendered to such persons free of charge, and with the further condition that such services be rendered under the auspices of the American Red Cross or the Florida Department of Health.
Under a State of Emergency, a pharmacist, in his or her professional judgment, may dispense up to a 30-day emergency prescription refill of maintenance medication to persons who reside in an area or county covered under the Executive Order and to emergency personnel who have been activated by their state or local agency but who do not reside in an area or county covered by this Executive Order. In accordance with section 465.019(4)(b), Florida Statutes, a hospital that operates a Class II or Class III institutional pharmacy located in an area or county covered under this Executive Order may prescribe and dispense a supply of a medicinal drug lasting up to 72 hours.
However, this statutory allowance specifically prohibits dispensation of a medicinal drug listed in Schedule II appearing in chapter 893 and is not permitted under section 465.0275, Florida Statutes.
In the event a pharmacist receives a request for a prescription refill and the pharmacist is unable to readily obtain refill authorization from the prescriber, the pharmacist may dispense a one-time emergency refill of up to a 72-hour supply of the prescribed medication; or a one-time emergency refill of one vial of insulin to treat diabetes mellitus, irrespective of the issuance of an Executive Order.
The full version of the Governor’s Executive Order may be found at: EO-22-219.pdf (flgov.com)
Website Server Maintenance Notice
Website Server Maintenance Notice
Please be aware of website server maintenance for MQA Websites beginning Friday, July 8th at 5:00PM EST. This will effect all Florida Board websites including FLHealthSource. The maintenance will take around 24-48 hours for the updates to be completed.
Meningococcal Disease and Vaccines
ICYMI: Florida Department of Health Advises on Meningococcal Disease and Vaccines in Florida
The Florida Department of Health (FDOH) is responding to an outbreak of meningococcal disease in some areas of Florida. However, it can be prevented and treated. Getting vaccinated is the best way to protect against meningococcal disease.
Thus far, the number of cases identified in 2022 surpasses the 5-year average of meningococcal disease cases in Florida. FDOH epidemiologists are investigating each case as well as contacting people with potential or direct exposure to known cases to provide them with information and treatment options.
The following groups should consider vaccination with a meningococcal conjugate (MenACWY) vaccine during this outbreak:
- College and university students;
- Immunocompromised individuals;
- People living with HIV;
- Men who have sex with men;
- People in any groups listed above who received their MenACWY vaccine more than 5 years ago.
Find meningococcal vaccines, including the MenACWY vaccine, by contacting a health care provider, county health department, or pharmacy. FDOH County Health Departments offer meningococcal vaccines. For more information, contact your local health department.
This is a serious disease caused by bacteria called Neisseria meningitidis. Fortunately, these bacteria are not as contagious as germs that cause the common cold or flu. People do not catch the bacteria through casual contact or by breathing air where someone with meningococcal disease has been. It requires close contact over a period of time, or direct contact such as kissing or sharing drinks.
Early symptoms of the disease include fever, headache, stiff neck, nausea, vomiting, light sensitivity, confusion, and rash. Anyone who has been exposed or develops symptoms should be evaluated by a health care provider immediately. This is a rare but potentially devastating disease.
For more information about meningococcal disease, please visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website or the FDOH website.
5 Reducing Fetal and Infant Mortality
1209 Administration of Vaccines
1521 Professional Counselors Licensure Compact
1523 Public Records and Meetings/Professional Counselors Licensure Compact
544 Drug-related Overdose Prevention
562 Military Occupational Licensure
566 Mental Health Professional Licensure
632 Occupational Therapy
926 Licensure Examinations for Dental Practitioners
1222 Nonemergent Patient Care
1374 Clinical Lab Testing
768 Florida Department of Health
Summaries of the enrolled bills from the 2022 legislative session that affect Florida’s health care professions. Click on hyperlinks to view a brief summary, effective date and a link to the final enrolled text.
Emergency Order 20-006
Pharmacists May Order and Administer COVID-19 Tests
For purposes of preparing for, responding to, and mitigating any effect of COVID-19, Emergency Order 20-006 was filed suspending section 483.813, Florida Statutes, for the provision that requires a pharmacist to be separately licensed to perform a clinical laboratory test, and section 465.003(13), Florida Statutes, for the provisions that prohibit a pharmacist from ordering, administering, or reporting the results of COVID-19 tests, including serology tests, authorized by the United States Food & Drug Administration (FDA), at a location with a clear and active pharmacy license. This suspension applies until the expiration of Executive Order 20-52.
The full version of the State Surgeon General’s Emergency Order may be found at https://s33330.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/DOH-Emergency-Order-20-006.pdf.
Reporting of COVID-19
Reporting of COVID-19 for Health Care Providers and Facilities
Thank you for participating in reporting test results to the Electronic Laboratory Reporting (ELR) Portal. The ELR Portal is a web-based application that supports both direct data entry and batch data submission. Mandatory reporting requirements are outlined by Florida Department of Health Executive Order 20-013, section 381.0031, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Chapter 64D-3, and state all health care practitioners, laboratories and facilities, including long-term care facilities, must report both negative and positive COVID-19 test results, including point-of-care rapid test results, within 24 hours of the result being known. Please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge when accessing the ELR Portal.
Facility Registration Information:
To register your facility to the ELR Portal, use the following link: https://ELRPortal.floridahealth.gov/FacilityRequest/RequestForm
- Provide the email address that will be associated with your facility. The portal will verify that the email address has not been previously used.
- Continue filling out the Facility Details and Admin User Details sections. Select the Submit Request button once you have filled the required fields.
- A link will be emailed to the provided email address. Follow the link to confirm your request. A confirmation email will be sent to verify your successful submission.
- Your request will be reviewed and either approved or rejected. If approved, an invitation email will be sent to complete your user registration request. If rejected, you will be notified with the reason via email, and you can submit a new request with your corrections.
- When user registration is completed, you can begin reporting using the reporting link.
- Until you have access to the reporting portal, or you have established an electronic laboratory reporting feed and it is in production, please continue to fax results to your local county health department within 24 hours. For a list of county health departments and their reporting contact information, please visit https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/county-health-departments/.
To report data to the ELR Portal, use the following link: https://ELRPortal.floridahealth.gov
Direct Data Entry: Test results can be reported by using the direct data entry method by selecting the Enter Result button in the Recent Results tab and filling out all the required fields. Please select Save to submit results.
Batch Data Entry: Test results can be reported by using the batch data entry method by submitting a .csv file that fulfils the provided requirements. Technical assistance can be provided to assist facilities with reporting through this method.
Contact Information: The ELR Portal user manual is accessible through the portal.
For any questions or assistance with facility registration or data entry, please email the contact for the COVID-19 Reporting Portal at ELRPortalSupport@flhealth.gov.
Healthier You is a one-stop shop for Floridians to access resources to promote a healthy lifestyle. From staying active to learning new recipes and boosting your nutritional intake, the Florida Department of Health works to educate Floridians on ways to improve habits and overall health. This is a resource for Floridians of all ages to get active, go outside, improve nutrition, including vitamin D intake, or learn about COVID-19.
Please click here for more information.
Executive Order regarding the state of Florida
Posted on: October 3rd, 2017
Due to impacts from Hurricane Maria, Governor Rick Scott has issued Executive Order 17-259 to assist our neighbors in Puerto Rico.
The Florida Department of Health, in accordance with Executive Order 17-259 has therefore extended license expiration deadlines for pharmacists and radiologic technologist licensees who resided in Puerto Rico at the time of this catastrophic event through November 2, 2017. Unless another extension is granted, any active license not renewed before November 2, 2017 will go into a delinquent status. Your license must be in active status to practice. Any license not renewed before midnight on September 30, 2019 will be moved to null and void status. Please continue to check for updated licensure expiration date information.
Gov. Scott Declares State of Emergency to Prepare Florida for Hurricane Irma
Posted on: September 13th, 2017
Due to impacts from Hurricane Irma, Governor Rick Scott issued a state of emergency in every county in the State of Florida. Please see Executive Order 17-235, Emergency Order DEM 17-0002 and Emergency Order DEM 17-0003 for more information.
Nonviable Birth Certificates
Nonviable birth certificates to be filed with Bureau of Vital Statistics
On May 31, 2017, Governor Rick Scott approved House Bills 101 and 103, entitled the “Grieving Families Act,” that amends section 382.008, Florida Statutes. This new law creates a new Certificate of Nonviable Birth to be filed with the Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics and is effective July 1, 2017. Below are highlights of the new law:
- The new law requires a health care practitioner licensed pursuant to Chapter 464 or Chapter 467 Florida Statutes, to notify the parent(s) that a certificate of nonviable birth may be filed for them.
- Definition of a “nonviable birth” is an unintentional, spontaneous fetal demise occurring between the 10th through the 19th week of gestation of a pregnancy that has been verified by a health care practitioner.
- If a parent(s) wishes to file a certificate of nonviable birth, then the health care practitioner and/or health care facility will have 30 days to file a record with the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
- A new form DH 8000-HSPM, entitled Florida Certificate of Nonviable Birth has been created for such filing. Forms are available from the Vital Statistics offices.
- Form DH 8000-HSPM is to be sent directly to the Bureau of Vital Statistics for filing via fax or mail within 30 days of parent(s) request.
- Fax number is 1-866-624-8321 (toll free) or 904-301-3696 (local)
- Mailing address: Bureau of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 210, Jacksonville, FL 32231.
- A Florida Certificate of Nonviable Birth certificate will be issued only by the Bureau of Vital Statistics, pursuant to a parent’s request and remittance of the required fee. Certificates of Nonviable Births are $9.00 for the first certificate and $4.00 for additional copies when ordered at the same time.
- Information included on the certification:
- Date of Occurrence
- County of Occurrence
- Issue Date
- Statement – “This certificate is not proof of live birth and has been issued in accordance with section 382.008 Florida Statutes”
- Information included on the certification:
- The Certificate of Nonviable Birth is a public record.
- **However, parentage information is confidential and will only be available to the parent(s) listed on the record. Public record requests will have the confidential portion redacted.
- This bill is retro-active. A parent(s) may request a health care practitioner to file a Certificate of Nonviable Birth regardless of the date on which the nonviable birth occurred.
You may use the new DH 8000-HSPM form effective July 1, 2017. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Vital Statistics Quality Assurance unit at (904)359-6900 ext. 9020.
An informational brochure has been created to help you and families learn about the new law. Grieving Families Act Brochure