Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
The Florida Prescription Drug Monitoring Program, known as E-FORCSE® (Electronic-Florida Online Reporting of Controlled Substance Evaluation Program), was created by the 2009 Florida Legislature in an initiative to encourage safer prescribing of controlled substances and to reduce drug abuse and diversion within the state of Florida. Controlled substance dispensing information is submitted to the database by dispensers and made available for consultation by prescribers.
Important Information for Data Submitters (Pharmacies and Dispensing Health Care Practitioners)
Dispensers of controlled substances are required to report to the PDMP each time a controlled substance in schedules II, III, IV, and V are dispensed to a patient, as soon thereafter as possible but no later than close of business the day after the prescription is dispensed.
Important Information for Data Requestors (Prescribers and Pharmacists)
Each prescriber and dispenser or his or her designee has a duty to consult the PDMP system to review a patient’s controlled substance dispensing history each time a controlled substance is prescribed or dispensed to a patient age 16 or older unless a statutory exemption applies.
Statutory exemptions include:
- If the patient is less than 16 years of age
- Drug being prescribed is a nonopioid schedule V
- System is not operational
- Requestor has technological or electrical failure
Failure to consult in the PDMP may result in a non-disciplinary citation by the regulatory board.
You may register for the PDMP at https://florida.pmpaware.net
For more information, go to www.e-forcse.com
Frequently Asked Questions
If you do not prescribe any controlled substances you are not required to register with or consult E-FORCSE.
You are still authorized to register. You can view your patient’s-controlled substance dispensing histories.
Prescribers, dispensers and their designees may register for access at https://florida.pmpaware.net.
The DOH will issue a non-disciplinary citation for the initial offense.
Any subsequent offense will result in disciplinary action against the prescribing/dispensing practitioner's license. Disciplinary guidelines are individually established by the appropriate licensing board.
Yes. Information that is more than 4 years old.
A prescriber or his or her designee must consult the PDMP to review their patient's controlled substance dispensing history prior to prescribing a controlled substance in Schedules II-V, as defined in section 893.03, F.S., for patients age 16 and older.
- If the PDMP system is not operational as determined by DOH, or
- The PDMP cannot be accessed by the prescriber practitioner due to a temporary technological or electrical failure or
- When prescribing a nonopioid Schedule V drug or
- The patient is less than 16 years of age
The prescriber must document in the patient's record the reason the PDMP was not consulted and may prescribe no more than a 3-day supply of a controlled substance.
The prescriber is not required to consult the PDMP before each refill, however, the prescriber must consult the PDMP prior to writing a new prescription for a controlled substance listed in Schedule II through V. A prescription for a controlled substance listed in Schedule II may not be refilled.
The statute does not provide any guidance on how far in advance the PDMP may be consulted. Please refer to your Board's website for further guidance.
The PDMP must be consulted each time a prescription for a controlled substance is written.
A dispenser or a designee of a dispenser must consult the PDMP to review a patient’s-controlled substance dispensing history prior to dispensing a controlled substance in schedules II-V, as defined in section 893.03, F.S., for patients age 16 or older for each new and refill prescription.
A dispenser or a designee of a dispenser does not have to consult the PDMP when dispensing a nonopioid controlled substance listed in Schedule V of s. 893.03, F.S. or 21 U.S.C. 812.
The duty to consult the system does not apply when the system:
- Is determined by the department to be nonoperational; or
- Cannot be accessed by the dispenser or a designee of the dispenser because of a temporary technological or electrical failure
A dispenser or designee of a dispenser who does not consult the PDMP shall document the reason he or she did not consult the system in the patient's medical record or prescription record and shall not dispense greater than a 3-day supply of a controlled substance to the patient.
A dispenser must consult the PDMP on the new prescription and on each subsequent refill.
A dispenser is a dispensing health care practitioner, pharmacy, or pharmacist licensed to dispense controlled substances to the ultimate consumer or his or her agent in or into this state.
A dispensing practitioner is a practitioner authorized by law to prescribe drugs who may dispense such drugs to her or his patients in the regular course of her or his practice in compliance with s. 465.0276, F.S. Dispensing practitioners may include: physicians, dentists, certified optometrists, podiatrists, advanced registered nurse practitioners and physician assistants.
Dispensers are required to report to the PDMP each time a controlled substance is dispensed to a patient, as soon thereafter as possible, but no later than close of business the day after the prescription is dispensed unless an extension or exemption is approved by the Department of Health.
All controlled substances in schedules II through V must be reported to the system by the close of the next business day. If the dispenser does not dispense any controlled substances for that day, then a zero report must be submitted.
Yes, there are two exemptions from reporting:
- Controlled substances administered to patients;
- Controlled substances dispensed in the health care system of the Department of Corrections; and
- Controlled substances dispensed to patients under the age of 16 are exempt from reporting to E-FORCSE.
- The telephone number of the person for whom the prescription was written, in addition to the name, address, and date of birth the prescriber currently inputs;
- Whether the prescription is an initial prescription or a refill, and the number of refills prescribed;
- The name of the individual picking up the controlled substance prescription and the type and issuer of the identification provided; and
- The pharmacy's DOH-issued permit number or the dispensing practitioner's DOH-issued license number
The Department has published a notice of rule development and will be amending Rule 64K-1.002, FAC . The PDMP will continue to accept submissions in the ASAP 2009 version 4.2 and the new 4.2a standard for one year from the effective date of the rule.
- The pharmacy permit number or the dispensing health care practitioner's license number.
- The name of the individual picking up the controlled substance prescription and type and issuer of the identification provided.
A person who willfully and knowingly fails to report the dispensing of a controlled substance as required by this law commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083, F.S. Further, the department shall issue a non-disciplinary citation to any prescriber or dispenser who fails to consult the system as required by this subsection for an initial offense. Each subsequent offense is subject to disciplinary action pursuant to s. 456.073, F.S.